top of page
Writer's pictureauthor

A Traveller's Guide to Spending the Night in Amarillo

If you're planning to take a road trip this summer, and Amarillo, Texas happens to be along the way, keep reading. Personally, I think Amarillo is a perfect place to spend the night and continue your journey the next morning. I, on my way to Colorado, stopped at Amarillo - and here's what we did.


We got there around 5pm, which I think is a pretty ideal time to arrive. There are many hotels scattered around Amarillo, but I recommend staying in the Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo West or East - it's perfect for one night, not too costly, but with comfortable room arrangements, etc. Plus - you don't have to book too far in advance, so if you change your mind last-minute, you have options.


As far as eating goes, there are plenty of local restaurants, etc. to eat dinner, but one I highly recommend is called "It's a Punjabi Affair," which serves, as you may have inferred, Punjabi cuisine. I think the chicken tikka masala or detox lentils are one of the best options, and the food comes with naan, rice, and something called "pappadum".


picture of detox lentils
picture of chicken tikka masala and mutter paneer

The picture on the left is detox lentils; on the upper right, there is chicken tikka masala and beneath it is mutter paneer


And last but certainly not least, the part you've all been patiently waiting for - Cadillac Ranch. Because how can you go to Amarillo and not visit Cadillac Ranch? For me, by the time we'd finished eating it was around 7pm, so we headed to Cadillac Ranch. And while it is technically open all day, I think around 7pm is one of the best summer times to go because it's still light outside, and there are still other people around, but there are significantly less people than in the morning.


Another benefit of going in the evening - you don't need to bring your own spray paint can. By the end of the day, there are half-full spray paint bottles everywhere because most people don't end up using all the paint in one bottle. You can pluck some off the top of the garbage cans, but there's usually some on the floor too. My family and I had a lot of fun with the spray paint. We were done in about half an hour and headed back to the hotel because we had to hit the road the next day.


I hope this helped you all a little in your planning, and I would love to hear your experiences in the comments. I'll be posting a bit about my travels to Durango next.



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page